Continental area Africa
and Canary Islands


Republic of South Africa

South Africa is a republic with provinces.

Only the coloured countries constitute the Republic
of South Africa, Lesotho and Swaziland do not

belong to the Republic of South Africa.


Within the Republic of South Arfica the regions award their own international titles.



Region Western Cape


  • province Western Cape (Cape Town)

Region Eastern Cape


  • province Eastern Cape (Bisho)

Region Kwazulu/Natal


  • Provinz Kwazulu/Natal (Pietermaritzburg)

Region 4



  • province Northern Cape (Kimberley)
  • province Free State (Bloemfontein)

Region 5





  • province North-West (Mafikeng) 1)
  • province Gauteng (Pretoria)
  • province Mpumalanga (Nelspruit)
  • province Limpopo (Polokwane) 2) 2)


1) Mmabatho, the former capital of the Homelands Bophuthatswana, is part of the town Mafikeng since the re-union with the Rep. of South Africa.
2) Polokwane was formerly called Pietersburg.
In 2002 cities, which reminded to the former politics of separation, have been renamed countrywide.


The appropriate administrative center is written in brackets.


Canary Islands
The Canary Islands area region of Spain, see there.

To continental areas